Checked on 25 September 2026

Aura vs Speechify

Both apps read text aloud. The biggest difference is where the speech is made, and what happens to your text.

Side by side

TopicAuraSpeechify
PlatformsAndroid. iPhone coming soon.iPhone, Android, web, Chrome and Edge extensions, Mac and Windows.
PriceFree to download, with ads and a free listening limit. Aura Pro has no ads; the app shows what is included and the price.Free plan with 10 basic voices. Premium is $29 a month.
Where the speech is madeOn your phone, for every voice.Cloud voices. Since December 2025, iPhone users can also pick on-device voices.
Offline listeningYes, after you download a voice.On-device voices on iPhone play offline.
Account neededNo.Not stated on the pages we checked.
What it can readPDFs with real text, EPUB, DOCX, TXT, pasted text, web links, Wikipedia, photos of print.PDF, EPUB, DOCX, XLSX, TXT, web links and scanned pages.
Voices and languages38 voices. Each one speaks 31 languages.Over 1,000 voices in over 60 languages (Premium).
Save as audioYes, as an M4A file.Not stated on the pages we checked.
What happens to your textStays in the app’s private storage on your phone.Its privacy policy says saved content is stored on the device and synced with Speechify’s servers.

Where Speechify is stronger

Where Aura is different

Which one fits you?

Pick Aura if you want your documents read aloud on your phone, with no speech server and no account. Pick Speechify if the points above matter more to you.

Sources

We took the facts about Speechify from its public pages on 25 September 2026. Prices and features change, so check them there. Speechify is a trademark of its owner. We are not connected to it. Did we get something wrong? Tell us, and we will fix it.

Try Aura

Aura is free to download on Android, and the iPhone app is coming soon. Some features need Aura Pro; the app shows what is included and the price before you pay.

Get it onGoogle Play

Coming soonApp Store

More about Aura

All guides